Our 1st Mom & Daughter Road Trip

Untitled design-4This past weekend we found our selves on a spur of the moment road trip to Mobile, AL. My best friend from college’s father had passed away and I made the drive to spend time with her and her family. Trevor had to work, so my daughter and I loaded up and we headed out Friday morning (yes, on the 4th of July. Love and friendship know no holiday) at 4:45 a.m. and headed for Mobile. We arrived around 10 a.m., stayed all weekend, and headed home Sunday morning around 11 a.m. It was good to see her and a family that I love dearly, but I truly hated the circumstances. Her entire family, even relatives I had never met before, made my daughter and I perfectly at home. The first night we stayed with her aunt and uncle because they had a daughter the same age as mine. Then the second night we stayed at my friends to get a full nights rest before driving back. We just hung out with the family and went with their queues on the comfort and healing process. I am truly thankful I was able to be there for her! Saturday there were a few hours when the family just needed to take care of some things, so my daughter and I made the 30 minute drive over to Dauphin Island and got in some much needed Mom and Daughter time. It was definitely not what we had foreseen for our holiday weekend, but with the given circumstances I would not have wanted to spend it any other way.

DauphinIsland14

4:45 a.m. Friday getting ready to leave the driveway.

DauphinIsland18

Excited that we get to spend a little quality time together on our first road trip!

DauphinIsland15

FINALLY went back to sleep. She stayed awake from the time we got in the car until almost Montgomery!!

DauphinIsland16

She was awake by the time we got to Mobile, and was excited about the bridges. πŸ™‚

DauphinIsland9

She finally got to meet my best friend’s “little sister”. She enjoyed their entire family! She now has a pepaw and second mimi and a few more aunts and uncles πŸ˜‰

DauphinIsland11

My best friend’s younger cousins. She said they were her best friends.

DauphinIsland13

We were still able to celebrate a little with her family.(Check out those shoes. We can travel 5.5 hours from home and my child will still manage to find the dress up diva shoes to play in.)

DauphinIsland1

Saturday we did give them a little time to take care of things and headed over to Dauphin Island. She LOVES the ocean and beach. I also think I found the spot for our family vacation next summer! I had never been either.

DauphinIsland2

Sand, sun, ocean, and cheetos. What more could a girl need? πŸ˜‰

DauphinIsland3

Of course we went hunting for sea shells, too.

DauphinIsland4

She has got this figured out!!

DauphinIsland8

We stopped in Prattville for gas and lunch on our way home Sunday. She proceeded to roll her window down and let me know she likes for the wind to blow in her hair. Ha! (I locked the windows after that πŸ˜‰ )

 

I hope you spent your holiday weekend with your loved ones and had a great time!

 

2 thoughts on “Our 1st Mom & Daughter Road Trip

  1. Again Cindy, I’m so sorry for your friends loss, My thoughts and prayers are with her and her family! Glad you and your little mini me got to spend some time together! I would have loved to have come and met you on Dauphin Island. It was good for y’all to get some quality mommy + daughter time too though! It was a beautiful weekend on the Gulf Coast. Glad to have you back!

    Like

    • Thank you so much for all of the thoughts and prayers!! I definitely appreciate them and I know her family does too!

      Next time we come back down I will definitely let you know so that we can meet up one day. I’m hoping next spring! (The rest of my time off this year is towards that honeymoon, ha!)

      Like

Leave a comment