National Fresh Fruit and Veggies Month

Happy Monday, everyone!

June is National Fresh Fruit & Vegetable Month and even though we eat a lot of fresh fruit (sometimes from Wal-Mart or a local grocery store) and stop by our local farmer’s market periodically, we are going to make an effort to patronize our local Farmer’s Markets a little more this month! We have one here in our home town that is about 3 miles from our house. There is also one next door to where I work in Morgan County! I’m thinking one day on my lunch I might walk over.

This past weekend my daughter and I spent EARLY Saturday morning at the Lawrence County Farmer’s Market and then stopped by Wal-Mart as well to get a few things we couldn’t find.

IMG_1341

Buy Fresh. Buy Local.

IMG_1342

FRESH PEACHES!! ❤

IMG_1343

The green tomatoes were also a farmer’s market find. Strawberries and bananas had to be found at Wal-Mart, though. *Look out for some upcoming fried green tomatoes. 🙂

IMG_1344

Wal-Mart actually had a “Grown Local” section and I was able to get 8 ear of fresh corn for $2!! I’ve already spent time planning ideas.

IMG_1345

Another thing I love about the farmer’s market: homemade jellies and preserves!! They taste better than store bought any day!

Displaying photo.JPG

Then Sunday night, I stopped by Wal-Mart to pick up some meats for the week and picked up a few more things! Celery, Kiwis, Nectarines, Cucumbers, Carrots. I am excited!! 😀 

We had so much fun with all of the shopping! Somethings my daughter is still iffy on, but I’m glad she loves fresh fruits and veggies!

What kind of fresh fruits and veggies do you like to cook with or snack on??

One thought on “National Fresh Fruit and Veggies Month

  1. Pingback: Fried Green Tomatoes (in the oven!) | Southern Mom Life

Leave a comment